First, a run-down of the particulars:
  • Due to potential metric conversion issues and weight class changes, a limit of 187 pounds is observed for this list.
  • Inception of the championship occured on 5/18/1989, the first fight in the division.
  • Sporadic periods of inactivity were observed throughout the first half of the lineage. Clear “top contender” matches took place to determine the next champion.

Your current lineal Middleweight champion is Robert Whittaker

The full history is below. Note, the colored backgrounds indicate a title change.

MMA Middleweight Lineal Championship History

Date Champion Outcome Challenger Notes
1989-05-18 Kenji Kawaguchi W Tadashi Yokoyama
1989-07-29 Kenji Kawaguchi D Yuji Ito
1989-10-19 Kenji Kawaguchi W Mitsuo Fujikura
1990-01-13 Kenji Kawaguchi W Naoki Sakurada
1991-05-31 Kenji Kawaguchi W Manabu Yamada
1991-08-25 Kenji Kawaguchi D Kazuhiro Kusayanagi
1991-10-17 Kenji Kawaguchi W Satoshi Honma
1992-07-23 Kenji Kawaguchi W Manabu Yamada
1992-11-27 Kenji Kawaguchi D Satoshi Honma
1994-07-29 Jan Lomulder W Kenji Kawaguchi
1995-09-03 Naoyuki Taira W Jan Lomulder
1995-12-01 Naoyuki Taira W Maurice Travis Taira goes inactive.
1997-03-16 Johil de Oliveira W Jose Landi Jons
1997-12-10 Wallid Ismail W Johil de Oliveira Ismail left division.
2000-09-24 Nate Marquardt W Shonie Carter Vacant Title. Top contender match.
2000-12-04 Nate Marquardt D Kiuma Kunioku
2001-03-31 Nate Marquardt W Hikaru Sato
2001-05-13 Nate Marquardt W Masaya Kojima
2001-10-30 Nate Marquardt W Yuji Hoshino
2001-12-01 Kiuma Kunioku W Nate Marquardt
2002-12-21 Nate Marquardt W Kiuma Kunioku Marquardt’s 2nd reign.
2003-03-08 Nate Marquardt W Izuru Takeuchi
2003-09-06 Nate Marquardt W Steve Gomm
2003-10-04 Nate Marquardt W Yuji Hisamatsu
2003-11-30 Ricardo Almeida W Nate Marquardt
2004-05-23 Ricardo Almeida W Ryo Chonan Almeida goes inactive.
2007-10-20 Anderson Silva W Rich Franklin Vacant Title. Top contender match.
2008-03-01 Anderson Silva W Dan Henderson
2008-10-25 Anderson Silva W Patrick Cote
2009-04-18 Anderson Silva W Thales Leites
2010-04-10 Anderson Silva W Demian Maia
2010-08-07 Anderson Silva W Chael Sonnen
2011-02-05 Anderson Silva W Vitor Belfort
2011-08-27 Anderson Silva W Yushin Okami
2012-07-07 Anderson Silva W Chael Sonnen
2013-07-06 Chris Weidman W Anderson Silva
2013-12-28 Chris Weidman W Anderson Silva
2014-07-05 Chris Weidman W Lyoto Machida
2015-05-23 Chris Weidman W Vitor Belfort
2015-12-12 Luke Rockhold W Chris Weidman
2016-06-04 Michael Bisping W Luke Rockhold
2016-10-08 Michael Bisping W Dan Henderson
2017-11-04 Georges St. Pierre W Michael Bisping George St. Pierre goes on hiatus with no plans to return to middleweight division.
2018-06-09 Robert Whittaker W Yoel Romero Top contender matchup


share this page


    1. oleg December 28, 2017 at 9:57 am Reply

      How can Gastelum be lineal champ? The lineage didn’t revert to Bisping after he lost to StPierre.

    2. Joe December 28, 2017 at 9:00 am Reply

      Gastelum should be the lineal champ

    3. Hafid Darbaki October 19, 2016 at 4:44 pm Reply

      Add the defense against Dan Henderson

    4. Tony Marquez June 6, 2016 at 8:36 pm Reply

      Shouldn’t Bisping be champion now?

    5. Russell Ash June 5, 2016 at 5:02 pm Reply


    6. Russell Ash July 20, 2013 at 3:18 pm Reply

      “Your current lineal Middleweight champion is Anderson Silva”. It’s Weidman now!!

    7. Oleg August 2, 2012 at 9:53 am Reply

      Silva’s lineal reign begins with the second title fight. Ortiz was not recognized as the lineal champion.

    8. Rick Stewart July 31, 2012 at 4:46 pm Reply

      Anderson Silva defeated Rich Franklin again and it is not listed in the lineal championship. Also why doesn’t it show Tito’s time as champion?

    9. jcs September 28, 2011 at 8:22 am Reply

      Marquardt/Yamamiya was at Light Heavyweight

    10. kody September 28, 2011 at 12:07 am Reply

      marquardt lost to keiichiro yamamiya after he beat izuru takeuchi so it should stop being him there in my opinion make i think it should be evan tanner somehow or at least just rich franklin

    Leave A Comment

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    Before asking where a specific fighter is ranked or why they aren't ranked:

    - We update the rankings once per week, usually on Sunday or Monday.

    - Fighters who have not fought in 450 days or more ARE NOT RANKED UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES.

    - Use the "Fighter Search" option in the upper-right of the page. The fighter may be ranked in a different division.

    - Most of the divisions have multiple pages beyond this one. See the clickable ranges above and below the ranking table.

    Furthermore, we do not maintain the "next fight" data. This is gathered from Sherdog. Any issues regarding this data should be forwarded to them.