First, a run-down of the particulars:

  • Inception of the championship occured on 10/14/1993, the first match-up between 1-0 fighters that took place within this division.
  • Vacancies after inactivity periods were fulfilled by the next “top contender” match. Absence of such, was not a problem at Heavyweight.

Your current lineal Heavyweight champion is Francis Ngannou

The full history is below. Note, the colored backgrounds indicate a title change.

MMA Heavyweight Lineal Championship History

Date Champion Outcome Challenger Notes
1993-10-14 Ken Shamrock WIN Kazuo Takahashi
1993-11-08 Ken Shamrock WIN Takaku Fuke
1993-11-12 Ken Shamrock WIN Patrick Smith
1993-11-12 Royce Gracie WIN Ken Shamrock
1993-11-12 Royce Gracie WIN Gerard Gordeau
1994-03-11 Royce Gracie WIN Minoki Ichihara
1994-03-11 Royce Gracie WIN Jason DeLucia
1994-03-11 Royce Gracie WIN Remco Pardoel
1994-03-11 Royce Gracie WIN Patrick Smith
1994-09-09 Royce Gracie WIN Kimo Leopoldo
1994-12-16 Royce Gracie WIN Ron van Clief
1994-12-16 Royce Gracie WIN Keith Hackney
1994-12-16 Royce Gracie WIN Dan Severn
1995-04-07 Royce Gracie DRAW Ken Shamrock Gracie went inactive
1996-05-16 Bas Rutten WIN Frank Shamrock Vacant title. Top contenders.
1996-06-25 Bas Rutten WIN Jason DeLucia
1996-09-07 Bas Rutten WIN Masakatsu Funaki
1996-10-08 Bas Rutten WIN Manabu Yamada
1997-03-22 Bas Rutten DRAW Osami Shibuya
1997-04-27 Bas Rutten WIN Kiuma Kunioku
1997-06-30 Bas Rutten WIN Takaku Fuke
1997-09-06 Bas Rutten WIN Osami Shibuya
1997-12-20 Bas Rutten WIN Keiichiro Yamamiya
1998-09-14 Bas Rutten WIN Kengo Watanabe
1999-01-08 Bas Rutten WIN Tsuyoshi Kosaka
1999-05-07 Bas Rutten WIN Kevin Randleman Rutten went inactive
2001-09-24 Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira WIN Mark Coleman Vacant title. Top contenders.
2001-11-03 Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira WIN Heath Herring
2002-02-24 Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira WIN Enson Inoue
2002-08-08 Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira WIN Sanae Kikuta
2002-08-28 Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira WIN Bob Sapp
2002-11-24 Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira WIN Semmy Schilt
2002-12-23 Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira WIN Dan Henderson
2003-03-16 Fedor Emelianenko WIN Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira
2003-04-05 Fedor Emelianenko WIN Egidijus Valavicius
2003-06-08 Fedor Emelianenko WIN Kazuyuki Fujita
2003-08-10 Fedor Emelianenko WIN Gary Goodridge
2003-12-31 Fedor Emelianenko WIN Yugi Nagata
2004-04-25 Fedor Emelianenko WIN Mark Coleman
2004-06-20 Fedor Emelianenko WIN Kevin Randleman
2004-08-15 Fedor Emelianenko WIN Naoya Ogawa
2004-08-15 Fedor Emelianenko NC Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira
2004-12-31 Fedor Emelianenko WIN Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira
2005-04-03 Fedor Emelianenko WIN Tsuyoshi Kosaka
2005-08-28 Fedor Emelianenko WIN Mirko Filipovic
2005-12-31 Fedor Emelianenko WIN Zuluzinho
2006-10-21 Fedor Emelianenko WIN Mark Coleman
2006-12-31 Fedor Emelianenko WIN Mark Hunt
2007-04-14 Fedor Emelianenko WIN Matt Lindland
2007-12-31 Fedor Emelianenko WIN Hong Man Choi
2008-07-19 Fedor Emelianenko WIN Tim Sylvia
2009-01-24 Fedor Emelianenko WIN Andrei Arlovski
2009-11-07 Fedor Emelianenko WIN Brett Rogers 18th defense
2010-06-26 Fabricio Werdum WIN Fedor Emelianenko
2011-06-18 Alistair Overeem WIN Fabricio Werdum
2011-12-30 Alistair Overeem WIN Brock Lesnar
2013-02-02 Antonio Silva WIN Alistair Overeem
2013-05-25 Cain Velasquez WIN Antonio Silva
2013-10-19 Cain Velasquez WIN Junior dos Santos
2015-06-13 Fabricio Werdum WIN Cain Velasquez
2016-05-14 Stipe Miocic WIN Fabricio Werdum
2016-09-10 Stipe Miocic WIN Alistair Overeem
2017-05-14 Stipe Miocic WIN Junior dos Santos
2018-01-20 Stipe Miocic WIN Francis Ngannou
2018-07-07 Daniel Cormier WIN Stipe Miocic
2018-11-03 Daniel Cormier WIN Derrick Lewis
2019-08-17 Stipe Miocic WIN Daniel Cormier
2020-08-15 Stipe Miocic WIN Daniel Cormier
2021-03-27 Francis Ngannou WIN Stipe Miocic
2022-01-22 Francis Ngannou WIN Cyril Gane