Women’s Bantamweight

First, a run-down of the particulars:
  • A weight limit of 137 pounds is observed for this list.
  • The lineage was started with the first fight within the weight class between two undefeated fighters.
  • Recordkeeping and regulations (weight classes) were notoriously bad for Women’s MMA.  As a result, we may update this list if new info presents itself.
Your current lineal Bantamweight champion is Vacant
The full history is below. Note, the colored backgrounds indicate a title change.
MMA Women’s Bantamweight Lineal Championship History
Date Champion Outcome Challenger Notes
1999-02-02 Jennifer Howe WIN Manuela Wilp
1999-05-15 Jennifer Howe WIN Nicole Anaya
2002-03-16 Jennifer Howe WIN Angela Reestad
2003-02-23 Jennifer Howe WIN Amanda Buckner
2003-10-25 Jennifer Howe WIN Judy Neff
2004-07-14 Jennifer Howe WIN Linda Langerak
2004-11-06 Roxanne Modafferi WIN Jennifer Howe
2005-03-05 Roxanne Modafferi WIN Jennifer Howe
2005-03-19 Laura DAuguste WIN Roxanne Modafferi
2006-08-18 Laura DAuguste WIN Megumi Yabushita D’Auguste retired after this fight.
2006-08-22 Tara LaRosa WIN Amanda Buckner Vacant title. Top contenders.
2006-12-02 Tara LaRosa WIN Julia Berezikova
2007-02-18 Tara LaRosa WIN Shayna Baszler
2007-07-14 Tara LaRosa WIN Kelly Kobold-Schmitz
2009-01-23 Tara LaRosa WIN Alexis Davis
2010-05-21 Roxanne Modafferi WIN Tara LaRosa
2010-07-23 Sarah Kaufman WIN Roxanne Modafferi
2010-10-09 Marloes Coenen WIN Sarah Kaufman
2011-03-05 Marloes Coenen WIN Liz Carmouche
2011-07-30 Miesha Tate WIN Marloes Coenen
2012-03-03 Ronda Rousey WIN Miesha Tate
2012-08-18 Ronda Rousey WIN Sarah Kaufman
2013-02-23 Ronda Rousey WIN Liz Carmouche
2013-12-28 Ronda Rousey WIN Miesha Tate
2014-02-22 Ronda Rousey WIN Sara McMann
2014-07-05 Ronda Rousey WIN Alexis Davis
2015-02-28 Ronda Rousey WIN Cat Zingano
2015-08-01 Ronda Rousey WIN Bethe Correia
2015-11-14 Holly Holm WIN Ronda Rousey
2016-03-05 Miesha Tate WIN Holly Holm
2016-07-09 Amanda Nunes WIN Miesha Tate
2016-12-30 Amanda Nunes WIN Ronda Rousey
2017-09-09 Amanda Nunes WIN Valentina Shevchenko
2018-05-12 Amanda Nunes WIN Raquel Pennington
2019-07-06 Amanda Nunes WIN Holly Holm
2019-12-14 Amanda Nunes WIN Germaine de Randamie
2021-12-11 Julianna Pena WIN Amanda Nunes
2022-07-30 Amanda Nunes WIN Julianna Pena
2023-06-10 Amanda Nunes WIN Irene Aldana Amanda Nunes retires