Women’s Strawweight

First, a run-down of the particulars:
  • A limit of 117 pounds is observed for this list.
  • The inception of the title was the first fight in the division between two undefeated fighters.
  • Recordkeeping and regulations (weight classes) were notoriously bad for Women’s MMA.  As a result, we may update this list if new info presents itself.
Your current lineal Strawweight champion is Weili Zhang
The full history is below. Note, the colored backgrounds indicate a title change.
MMA Women’s Strawweight Lineal Championship History
Date Champion Outcome Challenger Notes
2002-09-01 Yuka Tsuji WIN Noriko Tsunoda Inception
2003-12-31 Yuka Tsuji WIN Kaliopi Yeitsuidou No division info available.
2004-05-16 Yuka Tsuji WIN Yumiko Inoue No division info available.
2004-08-05 Yuka Tsuji WIN Erica Montoya
2005-06-28 Yuka Tsuji WIN Hisae Watanabe
2005-08-17 Yuka Tsuji WIN Maiko Okada
2006-02-04 Yuka Tsuji WIN Miyuki Ariga
2006-04-22 Yuka Tsuji WIN Cami Hostetler
2006-06-30 Yuka Tsuji WIN Tomomi Sunaba
2007-04-28 Yuka Tsuji WIN Thricia Poovey
2007-09-06 Yuka Tsuji WIN Ana Michelle Tavares
2007-12-26 Yuka Tsuji WIN Seo Hee Ham
2008-11-08 Yuka Tsuji WIN Mei Yamaguchi
2009-04-25 Yuka Tsuji WIN Kate Martinez
2010-02-11 Mei Yamaguchi WIN Yuka Tsuji
2010-11-28 Mei Yamaguchi DRAW Kyoko Takabayashi
2011-04-03 Mei Yamaguchi WIN Tomomi Sunaba
2011-05-03 Mei Yamaguchi WIN Akiko Naito
2011-07-09 Seo Hee Ham WIN Mei Yamaguchi
2011-12-17 Ayaka Hamasaki WIN Seo Hee Ham
2012-05-26 Ayaka Hamasaki WIN Yuka Tsuji
2012-07-28 Ayaka Hamasaki WIN Lacey Schuckman
2012-12-15 Ayaka Hamasaki WIN Emi Fujino
2013-07-13 Claudia Gadelha WIN Ayaka Hamasaki
2014-07-16 Claudia Gadelha WIN Tina Lahdemaki
2014-12-13 Joanna Jedrzejczyk WIN Claudia Gadelha
2015-03-14 Joanna Jedrzejczyk WIN Carla Esparza
2015-06-20 Joanna Jedrzejczyk WIN Jessica Penne
2015-11-14 Joanna Jedrzejczyk WIN Valerie Letourneau
2016-07-08 Joanna Jedrzejczyk WIN Claudia Gadelha
2016-11-12 Joanna Jedrzejczyk WIN Karolina Kowalkiewicz
2017-05-13 Joanna Jedrzejczyk WIN Jessica Andrade
2017-11-04 Rose Namajunas WIN Joanna Jedrzejczyk
2018-04-07 Rose Namajunas WIN Joanna Jedrzejczyk
2019-05-11 Jessica Andrade WIN Rose Namajunas
2019-08-31 Weili Zhang WIN Jessica Andrade
2020-03-07 Weili Zhang WIN Joanna Jedrzejczyk
2021-04-24 Rose Namajunas WIN Weili Zhang
2021-11-06 Rose Namajunas WIN Weili Zhang
2022-05-07 Carla Esparza WIN Rose Namajunas
2022-11-12 Weili Zhang WIN Carla Esparza
2023-08-19 Weili Zhang WIN Amanda Lemos